The Five Love Languages

The Five Love Languages by Dr. Gary Chapman sc with gc cropped and made small With more than 30 years of experience as a marriage counselor, Dr. Gary Chapman has heard it all. He has helped couples at every stage of marriage and at pivotal points in their relationships—from those just discovering the joys and trial of marriage to those who are ready to call it quits. After many years of counseling, Dr. Chapman noticed a pattern: everyone he had ever counseled had a “love language,” a primary way of expressing and interpreting love. He also discovered that, for whatever reason, people are usually drawn to those who speak a different love language than their own. Of the countless ways we can show love to one another, five key categories, or five love languages, proved to be universal and comprehensive—everyone has a love language, and we all identify primarily with one of the five love languages:
  • Words of Affirmation,
  • Quality Time,
  • Receiving Gifts,
  • Acts of Service, and
  • Physical Touch.
The 5 Love Languages® has helped countless couples identify practical and powerful ways to express love, simply by using the appropriate love language. Many husbands and wives who had spent years struggling through marriages they thought were loveless discovered one or both spouses had long been showing love through messages that weren’t getting through. By recognizing their different love languages, they witnessed the rebirth of the love they thought had been gone for good. You also may like to hear our other radio programmes based on Dr.Chapman's work called:
Click the image below and find your Love Language
5ll banner couples made into v small badge

Part 6 of 6 – The Five Love Languages

the-5-love-languages-reviewDr.Chapman and Stephen Cardy give a quick overview of the Five Languages, and how to take some next steps in improving your relationship!

Part 5 of 6 – The Five Love Languages

5ll_icon-giftsIs your spouse “all talk?” Do you wonder, if they loved you, why don’t they think of you enough to give you gifts? It could be that your “Love Language” is: Gifts! But it’s more than the thought that counts. And, how about a hug?! Dr.Chapman also explains the importance of another important Love Language: Physical Touch5ll_icon-touch

Part 4 of 6 – The Five Love Languages

5ll_icon-acts of serviceDo you feel unappreciated when you do things for your loved ones that go unnoticed? Stephen Cardy and Dr.Chapman explain another “Love Language”: Acts of Service, and how it factors into relationships.

Part 3 of 6 – The Five Love Languages

wordsThe Irish way of “slagging” doesn’t always fit neatly into the “Words of Affirmation” category!:) We all know that people can be deeply hurt by our words–but Dr.Chapman explains that for some people, words can hurt–or help– more than others! And: Gifts–is it really the thought that counts?5ll_icon-gifts

Part 2 of 6 – The Five Love Languages

5LL imageDo you feel loved? Do your loved ones feel loved–by you? Dr.Chapman gives a brief overview of his simple yet effective communication tool for your relationships.

Part 1 of 6 – The Five Love Languages

sc with gc cropped and made smallStephen Cardy chats with best-selling author Dr. Gary Chapman, who explains the doubts he and his wife had about his own marriage in the early days…